Reolink Privacy Mode is a feature designed to enhance user security and privacy by temporarily masking or disabling camera feeds. This article provides a concise guide to this camera privacy mode, covering its purpose, applicable camera models, setup instructions, and how to manage it.
When activated, this mode blocks the camera's view, stops all recordings, and won't trigger alarms. This means that even though the camera remains connected to power and the network, it will not capture any video or audio data. This provides a convenient way to disable live view, alarms, audio recording, and video recording without unplugging the camera, which can be especially useful in private spaces like bedrooms or living rooms.
What Reolink Models are Supported
Privacy Mode is supported by select plug-in Wi-Fi cameras and most battery-powered cameras.
▶ See the table below for a list of supported plug-in Wi-Fi camera models.
Model
Hardware Version
E1
IPC MS4NO24MPW
E1 Pro
IPC_566SD54MP
IPC_NT1NA45MP
E1 Zoom
IPC_566SD664M5MP
IPC_NT14NA48MPSD6
E Series E321
IPC_MS4NO23MPW
E Series E330
IPC_NT1NA45MP
E Series E331
IPC_NT1NA45MPSD18V2
E Series E340
IPC_566SD664M5MP
IPC_NT14NA48MPSD6
▶ For most supported Reolink battery-powered cameras, you can use the following methods to check whether your camera supports this feature.
How to check if your device supports Privacy Mode?
The easiest way to verify support is directly in the Reolink App:
Follow the steps/section to look for look for the Privacy Mode option.
Results:
If the option is available, your device supports Privacy Mode feature.
If the option is not available after updating the firmware, the hardware version of your device does not currently support this feature.
▶ All Reolink NVRs and Home Hubs support Privacy Mode. You can still enable/disable Privacy Mode when your supported camera is added to Reolink NVRs and Home Hubs.
2. Only the super admin account, which logs in with the super admin password, can enable or disable this feature. Other users can only view the device status and cannot perform any operations.
Step-by-Step Guide to Enable Privacy Mode on Reolink App
Step 1. Log in to your device on Reolink App and tap the icon to access the camera settings page.
Note: The navigation path differs depending on the device connection. For the standalone camera (left image) — tap the icon; For camera added to Home Hubs/NVRs (right image) — tap the icon next to the camera.
Step 2. Tap Privacy Settings >Privacy Mode.
Step 3. Tap Point Settings to configure a point, where the camera will rotate when enabled Privacy Mode. Then tap Create, and pan/tilt the camera to adjust the lens position in this mode. Note: This feature is not available on Reolink Video Doorbell (Battery) and Battery Video Doorbell (2nd Gen).
Step 4. Toggle the switch to enable Privacy Mode. Once you see Privacy Mode set successfully, it means the feature is active.
Step 5. Go to the Live View page. You won’t be able to view the live feed, but you can still play back previous recordings.
Step-by-Step Guide to Disable Privacy Mode on Reolink App
Step 1. Tap the camera to access the live view page. Then tap the Disable button on the live view screen.
Step 2. Toggle the switch to turn off Privacy Mode. Once you see Privacy Mode disabled, you can resume live viewing and access all other features.
Note: Despite the disabled recording functions, you can still access the device information.
Reolink Privacy Mode offers a simple yet effective way to ensure your privacy and security while using Reolink cameras. By following the steps outlined above, you can easily enable and disable this feature to suit your needs. Whether you're at home or away, you can have peace of mind knowing that your privacy is protected.